Sunday, December 17, 2006

Ebdon wins UK Championship

A promising final between two world class players: Peter Ebdon and Stephen Hendry finished with victory for Ebdon 10-6.

Both players seemed to be in exellent form in the tournament. Peter Ebdon beat Ding Junhui in the quarter final 9-5 and John Higgins in the semifinal 9-7. Stephen Hendry beat Mark Williams in the quarter final 9-6 and Ronnie O'Sullivan in the semi final 9-1 (O'Sullivan gave up and left the arena when the score was 4-1 to Hendry).

Both Ebdon and Hendry started to miss more in the final than they had done in their earlier matches. After the first session Hendry was in the lead 3-1, but after the second Ebdon leveled the score 4-4 with breaks of 60, 83 and 135. From there Ebdon won the next four frames 8-4. Hendry managed to win the next two frames (8-6). After that Ebdon controlled his nerves and won the last two frames to claim victory 10-6.

With this title Ebdon joins only nine players in the world who have won snookers most prestigiuos titles: The world championship and UK Championship. An effort previous made by: Steve Davis, Terry Griffith, Alex Higgins, John Parrot, Stephen Hendry, John Higgins, Mark Williams and Ronnie O'Sullivan.

Ebdon is very pleased to win the UK Championship Title and especially to join the field of players who won both the UK Championship and the World Championship means a lot to him.

Read more:
BBC Sport/snooker

Thursday, December 14, 2006

Ebdon and Higgins into the semis

Peter Ebdon won the quarterfinal against Ding Junhui yesterday 9-5. Ebdon is very pleased to beat his training partner and looks forward to the meeting with John Higgins. Higgins confortably beat Joe Perry 9-3. He admitted to loose focus a bit when he had the lead 8-1, but att 8-3 he managed to make a century to win the match.

Todays quarterfinals:
  • Stephen Hendry
  • Steve Davis
Read more here:
BBC Sport/snooker

Wednesday, December 13, 2006

UK Championship - Quarter Finals

The field in the UK Championship is now down to eight players and the quarter finals starts today:

  • Ding Junhui vs Peter Ebdon
  • John Higgins vs Joe Perry
  • Stephen Hendry vs Ronnie O'Sullivan
  • Steve Davis vs Graeme Dott
Read more:
BBC News/Sport

Mosconi Cup Trophy goes to USA - again!

The mosconi cup became a real thriller this year. Team Europe came in with a strong start and had the lead with 8-4, 9-6 and 12-10 before Team USA managed to fight back to 12-12, and the rules states that the defending champions keeps the title in case of a draw. Congratulations USA - but we'll be back next year and then we're going to win!

Team Europe:
  • Mika Immonen (Finland)
  • Ralf Souquet (Germany)
  • Thomas Engert (Germany)
  • Nick van den Berg (Holland)
  • Imran Majid (England)
  • David Alcaide (Spain)
Team USA:
  • Earl Stickland
  • Johnny Archer
  • Rodney Morris
  • Corey Duel
  • Mike Davis
  • John Schmidt
Read more:
Mosconi Cup hompage

Sunday, December 10, 2006

Fabio Petroni wins eurotour in Spain

Fabio Petroni wins the Spanish Open (Costa del sol Open) 2006 by beating Niels Feijen in the final 10-1! He also beat Oliver Ortmann 10-7 in the semifinal. Niels Feijen won over Martin Kempter 10-7 in the other semifinal.

More information about the tournament at the eurotour hompage.

Saturday, December 09, 2006

Eurotour Costa del sol Open 2006

The eurotour currentlyt running in Spain (Costa del sol) is down to last 16. Some great players are missing since the Mosconi Cup is running in the same time (Team Europe: Mika Immonen, Ralf Souquet, Thomas Engert, Nick van den Berg, Imran Majid and David Alcaide). But it's still some really tough competition: Thorsten Hohmann, Oliver Ortmann, Marcus Chamat and Niels Feijen to name a few of the world class players entering the competition. Though Marcus Chamat fell in the early stages - with a loss against english player Paul Kellett 9-10 and against portugese Manuel Gama 6-10.

These are the last 16

Bruno Muratore - Daryl Peach

Markus Juva - Antonio Fazanes

Marco Tschudi - Thorsten Hohmann

Mariusz Roter - Brian Beekers

Niels Feijen - Michael Felder

Sven Pauritsch - Fabio Petroni

Vincent Faquet - Martin Kempter

Oliver Ortmann - Michael Schmidt